Booking apps for barbers and salons: free plans and trials compared
Free plans and free trials of booking and appointment apps used by barbers and salons, each checked on the vendor's official pricing page. We note marketplace and card-processing costs where the page states them.
Not a ranking. Tools are listed in the order we checked them. Prices and limits change; confirm on the vendor page before buying.
Comparison table
| Tool | Type | Free plan / trial limits | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Square Appointments | Booking & payments | Free plan with no monthly subscription; you pay processing fees when you take a payment. Paid plans $49 and $149 per location. | Official page for Square Appointments | |
| Setmore | Online booking | Free plan at $0 for up to 4 users. | Official page for Setmore | |
| SimplyBook.me | Online booking | Free plan at $0: 50 bookings, 1 provider; 14-day trial of most features. | Official page for SimplyBook.me | |
| Booksy | Barber & beauty booking marketplace | 14-day free trial. | Official page for Booksy | |
| Fresha | Salon booking & payments | 7-day trial; Independent plan $19.95/month (single calendar), Team $14.95 per team member/month. | Official page for Fresha | |
| Vagaro | Salon & barbershop software | 30-day free trial. | Official page for Vagaro | |
| GlossGenius | Salon booking & payments | Free trial with no credit card (length not stated on the pricing page). | Official page for GlossGenius | |
| Squire | Barbershop software | 14-day free trial; Independent plan $30/mo for solo barbers. | Official page for Squire | |
| Acuity Scheduling | Appointment scheduling | 7-day trial with no credit card; Starter plan covers 1 calendar. | Official page for Acuity Scheduling |
Guides
- Best for a no-monthly-fee booking app — Apps with an ongoing $0 plan.
- Best for solo barbers and booth renters — Free or single-chair plans sized for one barber.
- Free trial lengths compared — How long each paid booking app lets you try it.
Tool notes
Square Appointments
Booking & payments
Free plan with no monthly subscription; you pay processing fees when you take a payment. Paid plans $49 and $149 per location.
Official source for Square Appointments · verified 2026-10-22
Setmore
Online booking
Free plan at $0 for up to 4 users.
Official source for Setmore · verified 2026-10-22
SimplyBook.me
Online booking
Free plan at $0: 50 bookings, 1 provider; 14-day trial of most features.
Official source for SimplyBook.me · verified 2026-10-22
Booksy
Barber & beauty booking marketplace
14-day free trial.
Official source for Booksy · verified 2026-10-22
Fresha
Salon booking & payments
7-day trial; Independent plan $19.95/month (single calendar), Team $14.95 per team member/month.
Official source for Fresha · verified 2026-10-22
Vagaro
Salon & barbershop software
30-day free trial.
Official source for Vagaro · verified 2026-10-22
GlossGenius
Salon booking & payments
Free trial with no credit card (length not stated on the pricing page).
Official source for GlossGenius · verified 2026-10-22
Squire
Barbershop software
14-day free trial; Independent plan $30/mo for solo barbers.
Official source for Squire · verified 2026-10-22
Acuity Scheduling
Appointment scheduling
7-day trial with no credit card; Starter plan covers 1 calendar.
Official source for Acuity Scheduling · verified 2026-10-22